Posts Tagged ‘college’

Atomic Subs, Wings

This UTA-area eatery is a lot more than a college hole in the wall.
A friend of mine lives close by the University of Texas at Arlington, and she recently told me about her experience at a sandwich shop called Atomic Subs and Wings. She called it a “hole in the wall” place with amazing food...


Hard to believe, but Green River Ordinance is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. Seems like just yesterday, the Fort Worth guys were bright-eyed youngsters in awe of local giants like Flickerstick and John Price. But G...

Playing for First

TCU Football is storming the BCS bastions again.
CAROLINE COLLIER AND DAN MCGRAW photos by keith robinson
Gary Patterson looked deflated during the press conference following Texas Christian University’s final home game of 2010. “I guess I should just cheer up,” he said. “We’ll move on.”  

Vampires in Ghost Town

Fort Worth novelist Rachel Caine offers the latest installment in her Morganville Vampires series.
The undead, especially vampires, have become superstars in the fiction sections of bookstores in recent years. Anne Rice may have ushered in the era, but the Twilight saga has snared teens, tweens, and many of their parents. Th...

Rebels in the Palace

Change is on the agenda for the Tarrant County College board.
What a difference an election makes.Less than an hour after Bill Greenhill and O. K. Carter were sworn in as new trustees on the Tarrant County College District board last week, the majority voting bloc that board president Lou...

A Solitary Man Goes Back to School

Michael Douglas tries to hold back the years in this mild comedy.
Since the turn of the new century, Michael Douglas has gradually been phasing himself out of the stardom that he enjoyed in the late ’80s and early ’90s, when he often played angry white men under siege. These days, he’s ...

Can We Fill Out the Form Under the Covers?

There are days in this country when being a sentient human seems to have become a lost art (look no further than some comments on Blotch for proof that Idiocracy is occurring as we speak). On those days, Static would just like ...

True Wealth

Go to school and learn to see the world.
The other day my son tried a new tack to get out of going to school. He said he didn’t like his school because it was too hard. He said “normal” schools were easier. And he wanted to go to a normal school.

San Diego, Texas

A Fort Worth painter goes West - and brings along his Cowtown buds.
Most of the time he was growing up in Fort Worth, painter Drew Snyder wanted to be a musician. It was his first artistic identity. Some of his friends and fellow students at Country Day School — including Ben Groff and br...

A Million Little Peaces

  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young m...