Posts Tagged ‘college’

Vampires in Ghost Town

Fort Worth novelist Rachel Caine offers the latest installment in her Morganville Vampires series.
CAROLINE COLLIER
The undead, especially vampires, have become superstars in the fiction sections of bookstores in recent years. Anne Rice may have ushered in the era, but the Twilight saga has snared teens, tweens, and many of their parents. Th...


Rebels in the Palace

Change is on the agenda for the Tarrant County College board.
BETTY BRINK AND JEFF PRINCE
What a difference an election makes.Less than an hour after Bill Greenhill and O. K. Carter were sworn in as new trustees on the Tarrant County College District board last week, the majority voting bloc that board president Lou...



A Solitary Man Goes Back to School

Michael Douglas tries to hold back the years in this mild comedy.
KRISTIAN LIN
Since the turn of the new century, Michael Douglas has gradually been phasing himself out of the stardom that he enjoyed in the late ’80s and early ’90s, when he often played angry white men under siege. These days, he’s ...


Can We Fill Out the Form Under the Covers?

Static
There are days in this country when being a sentient human seems to have become a lost art (look no further than some comments on Blotch for proof that Idiocracy is occurring as we speak). On those days, Static would just like ...



True Wealth

Go to school and learn to see the world.
E.R. BILLS
The other day my son tried a new tack to get out of going to school. He said he didn’t like his school because it was too hard. He said “normal” schools were easier. And he wanted to go to a normal school.


San Diego, Texas

A Fort Worth painter goes West - and brings along his Cowtown buds.
JIMMY FOWLER
Most of the time he was growing up in Fort Worth, painter Drew Snyder wanted to be a musician. It was his first artistic identity. Some of his friends and fellow students at Country Day School — including Ben Groff and br...



A Million Little Peaces

ANTHONY MARIANI
  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young m...


A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...



School’s Out

Peter Gorman
A controversial program that forced more than 60 public works inspectors in the city’s engineering department to add almost a full load of college courses to their working schedule for more than two years has been scrappe...


Studying Fire While Rome Burns

Static
“I woke up in a puddle of my vomit … I might have stopped breathing … I might have been slipping into a coma … I might have actually temporarily died. I can’t say for sure.”