Posts Tagged ‘college’

A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...

School’s Out

Peter Gorman
A controversial program that forced more than 60 public works inspectors in the city’s engineering department to add almost a full load of college courses to their working schedule for more than two years has been scrappe...

Studying Fire While Rome Burns

“I woke up in a puddle of my vomit … I might have stopped breathing … I might have been slipping into a coma … I might have actually temporarily died. I can’t say for sure.”


Last Call
I had to go to Bone Daddy’s House of Smoke in the Arlington Highlands Lifestyle Center to get a gift card for my neighbor’s birthday. Believe me, I’d never, of my own volition, go to a place described as ̶...

Wheel Right

Four years ago, Amber Herndon was volunteering at a banquet being held at her church. The event was a fund-raiser for a new program started by the church’s Sunday school class, which took donated cars, fixed them up, and ...

Back to the Sofa

A few weeks ago, I did something I hadn’t done in 25 years. I made my way to a college town to visit someone whose couch I could  crash on for the weekend. At the off-campus house, I was awakened by folks coming and goin...

Don’t Tax, We Spend

In some ways, it’s reminiscent of the 1980s, when competing black Democrats, some who couldn’t stand one another, got in elbowing matches to stand closest to black presidential candidate Jesse Jackson.

Best Of 2009 People and Politics

Fort Worth Weekly Staff
Click here to read more and see who won best Sportscaster, Morning News Show, Hot Local Celebrity, and more.

The Binge Conundrum

When I started college, I was 17 – had to wait three months before I could drink in bars near our campus in Chicago. Not to say we didn’t drink before we were legal, but we did change our habits once we hit the magi...

Athletes of Alt

In downtown Fort Worth on a Friday night, diners and clubgoers and Bass Hall patrons are likely to see some rather odd athletes bouncing around. What makes them odd is that they are bouncing around on one wheel.