Posts Tagged ‘false’

A Million Little Peaces

ANTHONY MARIANI
  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young m...


Good Place to Start

ERIC GRIFFEY
Fort Worth roots-rock quartet Chatterton has been together in one form or another for a few years now. Though frontman — and lone remaining original member — Kevin Aldridge claims Chatterton has always been a tradit...



Snake on a Train

JIMMY FOWLER
Local fans of the late suspense writer Patricia Highsmith should probably forgive the fact that the author hated her native Fort Worth. The list of people and things she reviled was long and included Jews, African-Americans, Ar...


Joey Green Hits Red Dirt

LAURIE BARKER JAMES
It’s one of the oldest stories in music: Local boy grows up singing and playing guitar in talent shows, coffee shops, and church camps, then attempts to parlay talent and ability into becoming something more than just ano...



Michelangelo Glorifies Kimbell

ANTHONY MARIANI
We all know how important Michelangelo is. He painted a massive fresco on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel for, uh, Pete’s sake, sculpted totally buff nudes out of marble (who knew that 24 Fitnesses existed back then?), ...


Cross My Palm with a Fried Egg

Chow, Baby
It’s a near-mandate that a writer’s end-of-year column has to be on one of three topics, each a cinch to whip out so we can leave early to be with our real or imagined families. For “The Year’s Top 10,&#...



Novel Approach

JIMMY FOWLER
Creative expression, the desire to master an art form, to honor one’s influences – they’re all important reasons for a performer to pick up a guitar and begin to make music. But according to Alex Johnson, the ...


Major Collection

JEFF PRINCE
Four men who played pivotal roles in the creation of Texas are being honored in a one-of-a-kind exhibit at the Stockyards.



Down the Chimney, Hatch

Kultur
Christmas is for children, even the grownup ones. A one-night program of live music, short theater pieces, and comic sketches, SceneShop’s sixth annual revue A Fifth of Christmas promises to be irreverent, rude, and as ta...


Mother Mary Comes to Me

KRISTIAN LIN
Before anyone had seen Precious, it had to battle negative perceptions. People had every reason to think it would be terrible when they heard that this drama about a poor, fat, illiterate, HIV-positive girl was by a neophyte fi...