Posts Tagged ‘young’

Growing Up Before Ground Zero

NAUREEN SHAH
When I was a child, I had no idea what I was. My family didn’t have cable TV for a long time. Once we got it, I learned that we didn’t like taxes. Later, we didn’t like Bill Clinton, because we didn’t like taxes. The we...


A Lone Star at Piano Texas

Cheng Zhang stood out in the always-pleasing annual TCU festival.
LEONARD EUREKA
A classical music star was born last week at the final concert of the Piano Texas Festival in TCU’s Ed Landreth Auditorium. If one performance of one concerto is a reliable yardstick, 20-year-old Cheng Zhang’s journey throu...



Afghanistan: Back to the front for the Weekly

DON JONES
expectation ek-spek-tay’-shun noun. A strong belief that something will happen or be the case in the future : Reality had not lived up to expectation.


Fort Worth Opera Sings

Don Giovanni and The Elixir of Love prove to be splendid additions to the annual festival.
LEONARD EUREKA
Comedies from both ends of the spectrum opened the Fort Worth Opera Festival last week at Bass Performance Hall: Don Giovanni, Mozart’s dark look at amorous dalliance, and Donizetti’s frothy The Elixir of Love. Both product...



Shrek Forever After: Fairy-Tale Ending

The ogre’s saga winds to a nice Rumpeled conclusion.
KRISTIAN LIN
Sobering reflection of the day: The little kids who are old enough to remember seeing the original Shrek in theaters are teenagers now. Similarly, the young men who made the original film have aged into young fatherhood, and th...


Stage West Tames The Lonesome West

Playwright Martin McDonagh’s vicious tale is de-fanged.
JIMMY FOWLER
Over the last 15 years, playwright Martin McDonagh — born in England to Irish parents — has pioneered a one-man theater of cruelty. His most famous plays feature desperate, amoral people languishing in contemporary Ireland ...



True Wealth

Go to school and learn to see the world.
E.R. BILLS
The other day my son tried a new tack to get out of going to school. He said he didn’t like his school because it was too hard. He said “normal” schools were easier. And he wanted to go to a normal school.


New Sheriff Armendariz Reads ‘Em Their Rights

Peter Gorman
Regional Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Dr. Al Armendariz made quite a splash last night at the February meeting of the North Central Texas Communities Alliance. Featured speaker Armendariz drew between 250 and 3...



A Million Little Peaces

ANTHONY MARIANI
  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young m...


A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...