Quantcast

Road to Jonestown: Twists and Turns

Debating Texas Identity

Bull Disclosure

The Street: A Journey into Homelessness by B.J. Lacasse; TCU Press; $29.95; 103 pps.

The Street: Hard Hitting

Blue Texas

Books

Books

Universal Hope

As a genre, gay fiction came into its own in the late ’80s/early 1990s, but the coming-out party felt more like a wake. The...

Happy 200th, Charles Dickens

This past week marked 200 years since the birth of Charles Dickens, and there were celebrations all over England. Some people, like the Archbishop...

Pancho and Lefty

Harold Eggers didn’t set out to know Townes Van Zandt to the core, but that’s what happened after 20 years spent crisscrossing the country...
Dallas 1963 By Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis Twelve: Hatchett Brook Group, 2013. $28, 372 pps.

Dark Dallas

This is not a book about the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. In fact that event and its aftermath are detailed only in...

Black-Eyed Susans: Murder by Flowers

You can’t write a suspense novel with a female protagonist these days without being compared to Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Paula Hawkins’ The...

Water Marks

By his own admission, Chris Rose spent most of the last 10 years “reveling in the frivolity of the entertainment industry.” As a columnist...

A Million Little Peaces

  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon's Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...
Restaurantes, rumba y más: A Gringo’s Guide to Latino Fort Worth, by Peter Szok. TCU Press, $9.95, 132 pps.

Gringos’ Delight

Like a pocket-sized tour guide, Peter Szok’s Restaurantes rumba y más: A Gringo’s Guide to Latino Fort Worth challenges residents and visitors alike to...
The 12th in Caine’s Morganville Vampires series is interesting but could have been richer.

Black Dawn Fades

At a time when vampires have become their own little entertainment industry, paranormal creators have to work hard to distinguish their work from all...

A Soldier’s Tale

Jon Lippens died in 2016, two years before his memoir was published. During the last year of his life, the Fort Worth WWII veteran...