Quantcast

Love/Hate

From Bow to Baton

A Tragedy of Errors

Glass House Men

Moscow Nights

Books

Books

Hullabaloo

If you’ve picked up a catalog from Texas A&M Press lately, you’ve no doubt noticed all of the battleships and generals and wars. If...

Vietnam War Child

Few know that the owner of Jerrel James Salon came to America with only $20 in her pocket. With the recent publication of The...

Water Marks

By his own admission, Chris Rose spent most of the last 10 years “reveling in the frivolity of the entertainment industry.” As a columnist...

Good Twig Bunting

Author and former major league baseball pitcher Jim Bouton once wrote that statistics are “about as interesting as first-base coaches.” He has a point....

A Million Little Peaces

Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...

Deep Barley Roots

The release of North Texas Beer is timely. As co-authors Paul Hightower and Brian Brown state in their introduction, the beer industry has grown...
Manson: The Life and Times of Charles Manson by Jeff Guinn. Simon & Schuster, 497 pps., $27.50

Charlie Brown

Most people who are even a little familiar with 1960s murder guru Charles Manson know that his apocalyptic worldview was inspired by the New...

Love/Hate

Classic novels of homoerotic obsession — titles like Evelyn Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited, Thomas Mann’s Death in Venice, and, if you want to give it...

Let the Sunshine In

Before there was Wendy Davis, there was Ann Richards. With her political savvy, big smart mouth, and, yes, her trademark “closer to God” silver...

The Tingler

You could fill most of this page with the passions and projects of veteran Fort Worth journalist-author Michael H. Price. The 63-year-old currently writes...