Quantcast

Days of Shame

Debating Texas Identity

Cold War Concerto

Dallas 1963 By Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis Twelve: Hatchett Brook Group, 2013. $28, 372 pps.

Dark Dallas

Bonnie and Clyde Anew

Books

Books

Voluminous

University of Houston law professor and anti-death penalty crusader David Dow made a big noise in 2010 with his first book, The Autobiography of...

Hullabaloo

If you’ve picked up a catalog from Texas A&M Press lately, you’ve no doubt noticed all of the battleships and generals and wars. If...
The anonymous hero of Buzzkill derives his power from addiction — and he wants to get clean.

Buzzkill: Down to Earth

Members of Alcoholics Anonymous tend to have their share of secrets, but few have one like the strapping young man who goes by the...

Moscow Nights

Author Nigel Cliff (The Shakespeare Riots, The Last Crusade: The Epic Voyages of Vasco da Gama) is on well-trod ground here. More than a...

A Picture’s Worth …

It's impossible to come of age in a city as grand and colorful as Fort Worth without falling in love with the architecture and...

A Million Little Peaces

Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...

Fear and Loathing of Big D

Fort Worthians who've followed the longtime rivalry between Cowtown and Dallas will get a shot of schadenfreude from The Dallas Myth: The Making and...

Larger than Life

Willie Nelson has been my hero since I was a teenager. Throughout the 1970s, I went to about two dozen concerts, bought countless albums, and...
Blood Aces: The Wild Ride of Benny Binion, the Texas Gangster Who Created Vegas Poker, By Doug J. Swanson. Viking Press; 368 pps.; $27.95

Benny and the Bad Boys

Doug J. Swanson’s new book is laugh-out-loud funny — odd, since it’s about a semi-illiterate gangster who left a trail of dead bodies from...

High Score

Few people make it in the world of online comics. Few people probably even know that online comics exist. But of the small number of...