Books

Bad Dad?

In his new book, the Star-T watchdog recounts a personal episode that led to global notoriety.
BETTY BRINK
Bad dad? Naaah. Frustrated dad? Angry dad? “I’m gonna teach this smart-mouth kid a lesson” dad? Oh, yes. Anyone who’s ever raised a child has been there. But “bad” Dave Lieber is not. By all accounts, Lieber is a re...


Who Framed The Duke?

The Tea Party is either the beneficiary of Conspiracy in the Heartland – or the joke.
JIMMY FOWLER
Political conspiracy theories in America have been around since the colonists fought loony old King George III for independence. Although both the conservative and liberal fringes of the United States have historically been cap...



The Tingler

Fort Worth author-historian Michael H. Price manifests a passion for pulp, pop, and cult.
JIMMY FOWLER
You could fill most of this page with the passions and projects of veteran Fort Worth journalist-author Michael H. Price. The 63-year-old currently writes a column for the Fort Worth Business Press as well as for the online edi...


Don’t Go to Hell House

A creative post-Rapture premise goes to waste in a new locally written graphic novel.
COLE WILLIAMS
Discussing religion in an entertaining way is a difficult enterprise, and doing so memorably is next to impossible. Local writers Chad Feehan and Ryan Dixon have come up with a cool concept in their new graphic novel, Hell Hous...



Vampires in Ghost Town

Fort Worth novelist Rachel Caine offers the latest installment in her Morganville Vampires series.
CAROLINE COLLIER
The undead, especially vampires, have become superstars in the fiction sections of bookstores in recent years. Anne Rice may have ushered in the era, but the Twilight saga has snared teens, tweens, and many of their parents. Th...


A Million Little Peaces

ANTHONY MARIANI
  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young m...



A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...


Snake on a Train

JIMMY FOWLER
Local fans of the late suspense writer Patricia Highsmith should probably forgive the fact that the author hated her native Fort Worth. The list of people and things she reviled was long and included Jews, African-Americans, Ar...



**ONLINE EXCLUSIVE**

JEFF PRINCE
Back in the 1960s and 70s most people under 30 would have given their left nostril to be Chris O’Dell.


Bonnie and Clyde Anew

JIMMY FOWLER
If Arthur Penn’s 1967 crime thriller Bonnie and Clyde strikes you as flimsy and overstylized despite its hallowed place in American pop cinema, wait until you read Jeff Guinn’s doggedly researched, compulsively read...