Books

Vampires in Ghost Town

Fort Worth novelist Rachel Caine offers the latest installment in her Morganville Vampires series.
CAROLINE COLLIER
The undead, especially vampires, have become superstars in the fiction sections of bookstores in recent years. Anne Rice may have ushered in the era, but the Twilight saga has snared teens, tweens, and many of their parents. Th...


A Million Little Peaces

ANTHONY MARIANI
  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young m...



A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...


Snake on a Train

JIMMY FOWLER
Local fans of the late suspense writer Patricia Highsmith should probably forgive the fact that the author hated her native Fort Worth. The list of people and things she reviled was long and included Jews, African-Americans, Ar...



**ONLINE EXCLUSIVE**

JEFF PRINCE
Back in the 1960s and 70s most people under 30 would have given their left nostril to be Chris O’Dell.


Bonnie and Clyde Anew

JIMMY FOWLER
If Arthur Penn’s 1967 crime thriller Bonnie and Clyde strikes you as flimsy and overstylized despite its hallowed place in American pop cinema, wait until you read Jeff Guinn’s doggedly researched, compulsively read...



Powder Kegs

MARGARET ALLYSON
Amon Carter would approve: Make classic Dallas desserts right here in Cowtown. It’s possible with the new cookbook by Helen Thompson, Dallas Classic Desserts: Recipes from Favorite Restaurants. The concept is clever: sign...


Bull Disclosure

DAN MCGRAW
Full disclosure: I listen to SportsRadio 1310-AM The Ticket quite a bit, which means I’m a P1, a.k.a. a devoted Tickethead. I’m also in the station’s coveted 25-to-54-year-old male demographic. I’ve been...



A Picture’s Worth …

JEFF PRINCE
It’s impossible to come of age in a city as grand and colorful as Fort Worth without falling in love with the architecture and scenery: skyscrapers, mom-and-pop shops, rivers, viaducts, longhorns, stockyards, trains, movi...


Fear and Loathing of Big D

JIMMY FOWLER
Fort Worthians who’ve followed the longtime rivalry between Cowtown and Dallas will get a shot of schadenfreude from The Dallas Myth: The Making and Unmaking of an American City. Author Harvey J. Graff lived in Big D for ...