Posts Tagged ‘million’

Gas-Gobblers

Static
Holidays promote a plethora of bad puns among writers and those who pitch stories to writers, so Static was neither surprised nor particularly amused when Environment America issued a report this week entitled “Gobbling Less ...


Cultural Congestion

Static
Amid some strange comments from the city council about modern streetcar lines not being “culturally” compatible with Fort Worth, the city’s streetcar consultant this week laid out a plan for starter lines for that public ...



Which Ox to Gore

Neighborhood leaders question how city budget cuts are being decided.
DAN MCGRAW
The witching hour is approaching for Fort Worth’s city budget: By the end of the month, the city council must decide how to chop about $73 million in services and payroll. And a lot of neighborhood and civic leaders are worri...


Sharing a Constructive Spirit

Amon Carter shines a light on abstract art in North and South America in the early 20th century.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Modernism is sexy. And not just because Mad Men is set during the period of the style’s apex, the early 1960s, though there’s no denying the show’s appeal. No, Modernism conjures up an era, one in which father still knew ...



Rebels in the Palace

Change is on the agenda for the Tarrant County College board.
BETTY BRINK AND JEFF PRINCE
What a difference an election makes.Less than an hour after Bill Greenhill and O. K. Carter were sworn in as new trustees on the Tarrant County College District board last week, the majority voting bloc that board president Lou...


Heart-Stopping Humor

Static
It had to be the best quote of the last week, perhaps of the year thus far. The occasion was the annual dinner of the Gridiron Club in Washington, D.C., on Saturday, where former prez Bill Clinton had agreed to stand in for Pre...



Foxes, Henhouse

Is it a power grab or just good government at work?
Static
On Tuesday, the Fort Worth city council voted unanimously to dissolve the 14-year Crime Control and Prevention District board and replace the appointed members with – who else – themselves. The move was being pushed...


A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...



You Want Fair?

DAN MCGRAW
Texas Christian University’s football program has achieved remarkable success in recent years. The Horned Frogs finished this year ranked fourth in the country – quite an accomplishment for a relatively small privat...


Transfer from If to When

DAN MCGRAW
Five years ago, no one in Fort Worth was thinking much about public transportation, particularly an inner-city streetcar system. Real estate developers, assuming that only poor people used mass transit, didn’t want any li...