Posts Tagged ‘it’s’

A Million Little Peaces

A TCU prof found Happy-ness in the worst places.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes Obstacle, Boy Finds Redemption. Typically in such books, a self-destructive young man –...


Acrylic & Steel

Gallery
It’s a pity that we can’t reproduce the above picture in color, because then you’d see the shocking pink of Tom Hollenback’s abstract acrylic and steel sculptures, which fire the room with their hues.



Operating Expenses

This medical thriller will keep you Awake, but that’s all.
Kristian Lin
Awake begins with some text claiming that out of the 21 million Americans who receive anesthesia each year, 30,000 of them experience something called “anesthesia awareness,” a condition in which the drugs don’t work like...


Also-Ran

In case you haven’t noticed, the indie dramedy formula won’t be going away anytime soon, thanks to movies like Dan.
Cole Williams
Of all the young, male comedic actors who have recently been in or directed movies that don’t hew to formula, Steve Carell is arguably tops of the class.



Amanda Alert

Ben Affleck comes up aces directing the missing-girl mystery Gone Baby Gone.
Kristian Lin
It probably didn’t happen this way, but I can easily imagine Ben Affleck in the midst of his 2003 Gigli-induced purgatory, taking time out to watch Mystic River and thinking to himself, “Hell, I can do that” (or words to ...


Arabesque

The politically aware action thriller The Kingdom has something for everyone.
Kristian Lin
The Kingdom is the fourth movie directed by Peter Berg, and it’s obviously his bid to join that elite club of filmmakers whose action thrillers appeal to both the popcorn-eating masses and the socially conscious moviegoers.



Tango: A Ballroom in Sculpture

Gallery
Gallery Night is an evening to take in all the galleries, but it’s good to concentrate on the ones that won’t be up for long.


Cowtown’s Coolest Unsung Buildings

There’s more to the Fort than the Kimbell and the County Courthouse.
ANTHONY MARIANI
Maybe it’s the massive brick wall that greets downtowners entering the Stockyards via North Main.



Portugal. The Man

Listen Up
“Sell me / I’m a skeptical boy.” So opens Church Mouth, the second album by Alaska’s Portugal. The Man.


Hullabaloo

Has Texas A&M Press become the Bush administration’s mouthpiece?
Books
If you’ve picked up a catalog from Texas A&M Press lately, you’ve no doubt noticed all of the battleships and generals and wars. If you’ve caught the university’s Wackenhut-sponsored Homeland Security radio broadca...