Quantcast
The 12th in Caine’s Morganville Vampires series is interesting but could have been richer.

Black Dawn Fades

Pigskin Rapture

Deep Barley Roots

Good Twig Bunting

**ONLINE EXCLUSIVE**

Books

Books

Good Twig Bunting

Author and former major league baseball pitcher Jim Bouton once wrote that statistics are “about as interesting as first-base coaches.” He has a point....

Debating Texas Identity

With Rick Perry making his bid for the U.S. presidency, you can expect to hear in his rhetoric many familiar tropes of Texas identity,...

A Texas Jubilee

The fictionalized North Texas town of Bodark Springs comes to life in James Ward Lee’s most recent book, A Texas Jubilee, reminding readers that...
The anonymous hero of Buzzkill derives his power from addiction — and he wants to get clean.

Buzzkill: Down to Earth

Members of Alcoholics Anonymous tend to have their share of secrets, but few have one like the strapping young man who goes by the...

Road to Jonestown: Twists and Turns

Jeff Guinn spends a lot of time with monsters.  An award-winning investigative journalist and member of the Texas Literary Hall of Fame, the Fort Worth...

Vampires in Ghost Town

The undead, especially vampires, have become superstars in the fiction sections of bookstores in recent years. Anne Rice may have ushered in the era,...

Cold War Concerto

In the coming months, Fort Worth will once again be the darling of the classical music world as the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition...
Blood Aces: The Wild Ride of Benny Binion, the Texas Gangster Who Created Vegas Poker, By Doug J. Swanson. Viking Press; 368 pps.; $27.95

Benny and the Bad Boys

Doug J. Swanson’s new book is laugh-out-loud funny — odd, since it’s about a semi-illiterate gangster who left a trail of dead bodies from...

A Million Little Peaces

Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...