Quantcast

Happy 200th, Charles Dickens

Nuts

Blue Texas

Bull Disclosure

Plain-spoken

Books

Books

Love/Hate

Classic novels of homoerotic obsession — titles like Evelyn Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited, Thomas Mann’s Death in Venice, and, if you want to give it...

A Soldier’s Tale

Jon Lippens died in 2016, two years before his memoir was published. During the last year of his life, the Fort Worth WWII veteran...

Texas Horror

Stories in an anthology can be as varied as a week of Texas weather: In the best of times, you get a week of...

New Mantra: “Yes, And”

Wow, has Four Day Weekend really been around 20 years? Perennially rated by national critics as one of the top improv troupes in the...
Restaurantes, rumba y más: A Gringo’s Guide to Latino Fort Worth, by Peter Szok. TCU Press, $9.95, 132 pps.

Gringos’ Delight

Like a pocket-sized tour guide, Peter Szok’s Restaurantes rumba y más: A Gringo’s Guide to Latino Fort Worth challenges residents and visitors alike to...

Voluminous

University of Houston law professor and anti-death penalty crusader David Dow made a big noise in 2010 with his first book, The Autobiography of...

A Million Little Peaces

Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...

Bull Disclosure

Full disclosure: I listen to SportsRadio 1310-AM The Ticket quite a bit, which means I'm a P1, a.k.a. a devoted Tickethead. I'm also in...

Bayou Self

If you read this debut biography of Fort Worth native Townes Van Zandt — and you need to — the author wants you to...

Rooting for Roots

What an odd book — fascinating at times yet frustrating in its lack of organization and purpose. The title, True to the Roots: Americana...