Quantcast
Blood Aces: The Wild Ride of Benny Binion, the Texas Gangster Who Created Vegas Poker, By Doug J. Swanson. Viking Press; 368 pps.; $27.95

Benny and the Bad Boys

Manson: The Life and Times of Charles Manson by Jeff Guinn. Simon & Schuster, 497 pps., $27.50

Charlie Brown

Bad Dad?

In a climactic scene in The Devil’s Backbone, Papa and his protector traverse the titular rocky ledge.

Adventures in Texas History

Blue Texas

Books

Books

Fort Worth’s Rock Roots

In a recent story on DC9 at Night, the Dallas Observer’s music blog, several local media types, including this writer, were asked to assess...

Debating Texas Identity

With Rick Perry making his bid for the U.S. presidency, you can expect to hear in his rhetoric many familiar tropes of Texas identity,...

Bad Dad?

Bad dad? Naaah. Frustrated dad? Angry dad? “I’m gonna teach this smart-mouth kid a lesson” dad? Oh, yes. Anyone who’s ever raised a child...

Who Framed The Duke?

Political conspiracy theories in America have been around since the colonists fought loony old King George III for independence. Although both the conservative and...

A Million Little Peaces

  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon's Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...
The Texas Right: The Radical Roots of Lone Star Conservatism, edited by David O’Donald Cullen and Kyle G. Wilkison. Texas A&M University Press, 208 pps. $25

Right-to-Hate State

Now that the country has reacted with disgust and amusement to the extremist 2014 Texas Republican Party platform, the next logical question is: Where...

Caine is Working Stiff

Earlier this year, the Weekly ran a cover story on Fort Worth-based urban fantasy novelist Rachel Caine, whose real name is Roxanne Longstreet Conrad....

The Tingler

You could fill most of this page with the passions and projects of veteran Fort Worth journalist-author Michael H. Price. The 63-year-old currently writes...

Blue Texas

In light of lessons learned this political season, armchair analysts are reminded that change is a process, not a final destination. When in Texas,...
Restaurantes, rumba y más: A Gringo’s Guide to Latino Fort Worth, by Peter Szok. TCU Press, $9.95, 132 pps.

Gringos’ Delight

Like a pocket-sized tour guide, Peter Szok’s Restaurantes rumba y más: A Gringo’s Guide to Latino Fort Worth challenges residents and visitors alike to...