Quantcast

Voluminous

Bull Disclosure

Beyond the Forest

The Twenty-Nine Bombs

Books

Books

The Twenty-Nine Bombs

Assailing the evils wrought by corporate greed and government cowardice is a noble — if not original — intent. But just as the protester...

High Score

Few people make it in the world of online comics. Few people probably even know that online comics exist. But of the small number of...
Manson: The Life and Times of Charles Manson by Jeff Guinn. Simon & Schuster, 497 pps., $27.50

Charlie Brown

Most people who are even a little familiar with 1960s murder guru Charles Manson know that his apocalyptic worldview was inspired by the New...

Road to Jonestown: Twists and Turns

Jeff Guinn spends a lot of time with monsters.  An award-winning investigative journalist and member of the Texas Literary Hall of Fame, the Fort Worth...

From Bow to Baton

Famed conductor Anshel Brusilow first conceived of his memoir, Shoot the Conductor, in 1967. He didn’t start writing immediately. Life afforded the former conductor...

Nuts

If the phrase "West Texas feminist" causes your eyebrows to raise, It's A Jungle Out There isn't your kind of book. Don't be misled by...

A Million Little Peaces

  Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon's Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...
Dallas 1963 By Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis Twelve: Hatchett Brook Group, 2013. $28, 372 pps.

Dark Dallas

This is not a book about the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. In fact that event and its aftermath are detailed only in...

Posse Prose

A baker’s dozen of Texas writers have set egos — and some might say common sense — aside to write a collaborative novel (which...

A Soldier’s Tale

Jon Lippens died in 2016, two years before his memoir was published. During the last year of his life, the Fort Worth WWII veteran...