Quantcast

Fort Worth’s Rock Roots

The hero of Buzzkill, an anonymous übermensch, derives his superpowers from drugs and alcohol.

Buzzkill: Up, Up, and Away

Posse Prose

Dark Ages

Fear and Loathing of Big D

Books

Books
The hero of Buzzkill, an anonymous übermensch, derives his superpowers from drugs and alcohol.

Buzzkill: Up, Up, and Away

There have been as many takes on the superhero genre as there are members of the X-Men. The artform has been deconstructed, reconstructed, and...

Snake on a Train

Local fans of the late suspense writer Patricia Highsmith should probably forgive the fact that the author hated her native Fort Worth. The list...

A Million Little Peaces

Titled after his college nickname, Alex Lemon’s Happy is another in a slew of memoirs in the vein of Boy Meets Obstacle, Boy Overcomes...
Manson: The Life and Times of Charles Manson by Jeff Guinn. Simon & Schuster, 497 pps., $27.50

Charlie Brown

Most people who are even a little familiar with 1960s murder guru Charles Manson know that his apocalyptic worldview was inspired by the New...

Good Twig Bunting

Author and former major league baseball pitcher Jim Bouton once wrote that statistics are “about as interesting as first-base coaches.” He has a point....

Nuts

If the phrase "West Texas feminist" causes your eyebrows to raise, It's A Jungle Out There isn't your kind of book. Don't be misled by...

Personal Jesus

The Oscar-nominated 2006 film Jesus Camp may have been a documentary, but it played more like a horror movie to non-religious people and to...

Pigskin Rapture

Texas has four seasons: winter, spring, summer, and football. In the midst of oppressive heat, Mac Engel’s Pigskin Rapture: Four Days in The Life of...

Bull Disclosure

Full disclosure: I listen to SportsRadio 1310-AM The Ticket quite a bit, which means I'm a P1, a.k.a. a devoted Tickethead. I'm also in...

Happy 200th, Charles Dickens

This past week marked 200 years since the birth of Charles Dickens, and there were celebrations all over England. Some people, like the Archbishop...